Over the last few months, WhatsApp’s new Terms of Service are in the spotlight, which will set for May 15 to come into effect. As the date is coming near, lots of users starting worrying and many questions are popping up in their minds. So, let’s bind them and try to find out their answers.
What happens from May 15, 2021:
If I didn’t accept the Terms of Service:
WhatsApp users who have not accepted the terms by that date, still they will be able to continue to use their accounts. But, they will suffer through several functions limitation until they agree with the terms.
It means that the account will remain active, but the services become unusable. Additionally, users can also accept the Terms of Service even after May 15, 2021.
Features that you won’t be able to use if you don’t accept the Terms of Service:
- You won’t be able to send new status updates within the application.
- It’s not possible to forward messages from a chat to another one.
- You cannot manage and use broadcast lists and create new groups, but you can still be added in groups from other people if your privacy settings allow them to add you, otherwise you cannot accept new invites to groups.
- Messaging services are very limited: you cannot quote messages or mention participants in your groups, and you cannot send voice messages, stickers, and other types of media within the application.
- You won’t be able to back up your chat history if you have disabled the automatic backup.
- You cannot use the service Click To Chat.
- You cannot export your chat history.
- If you have iOS, you cannot view shared media anymore, if you haven’t previously exported them. On WhatsApp, for Android, you can still view your media using a File Manager visiting the new path.
If I accept the Terms of Service:
WhatsApp users that accept the terms are able to continue their account and services as usual. On the other hand, a lot of peoples believe that this step allows Facebook to get the data from WhatsApp and it could be true since it’s the parent company.
Users can still chat with family and friends safely and normally because the real changes are made in chatting with business accounts work. There are two types of business accounts: a normal business account and a special business account that uses cloud providers.
While contacting a normal business account is like chatting with a friend or family member, when you chat with a business account that uses cloud providers, it’s possible that the details of the chat with them are used to generate targeted advertisements on Facebook.
So, if you were worried about the Terms of Service, you can understand then just avoid these “special” business accounts having “bad” privacy practices to stay away from Facebook. You can recognize them because it’s marked at the top of the conversation if they use tools to manage and store the chat.
WhatsApp users there is nothing to worried about, your chats and calls are really safe and end-to-end encrypted. If you are still in dilemma then just do one thing, avoid those two new services mentioned above. Aside from this, nothing is changed in WhatsApp.